The Franco-Scottish Society of Scotland was founded in Edinburgh in 1895. It is one of three Franco-Scottish Societies, all of which maintain close links with one another. The Association Franco-Écossaise began life in Paris in 1896, and the Franco-Scottish Society of Canada was re-launched one hundred years later.

The Franco-Scottish Society of Scotland is an independent organisation recognised as a Scottish Charity (No SCO02507). Its members are spread over seven Branches: in Aberdeen, Dumfries and Galloway, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Helensburgh, Perth and St Andrews. National office-bearers and Branch representatives form the Council of the Society which meets twice a year, generally in November and March. The different Branches host the Annual General Meeting in rotation.

From the outset the Society aimed to foster contacts between the French and the Scots and to develop their traditional friendship enshrined - since at least 1295 - in the Auld Alliance. Through educational, cultural and social activities, the Society continues to pursue these objectives today, believing that the development of Franco-Scottish relations in the European Union and also in the Commonwealth are as important as they have ever been.

In Scotland the Society offers a focus for individuals and groups who wish to keep in touch with France, its culture, language, attitudes and current affairs. No specialist knowledge of France or of the French language is necessary, but native speakers of French are of course particularly welcome.

To have details of the current Branch Programs, or to have information about the annual subscription and how to become a member, please click on one of the links. The National Secretary and the Branch Secretaries will be happy to answer enquiries made by E-mail, letter or telephone.

National Office Bearers

Honorary Presidents: Lord Balfour of Burleigh, HE The French Ambassador.

President: Gerry Toner
Tel: 01355 221502 E-mail:

Vice-President: Colette Blazy-Mackie

Treasurer: Cécile Docherty
Tel 0141 637 1762 E-mail:

Letter Editor: Janine Adamson Tel: 01292 441469 E-mail:

Subscription Secretary : Val Rees