Winners of the Franco-Scottish Society Language Prize

The Franco-Scottish Society of Scotland Language Prize is awarded annually to the candidate who achieves the highest mark in Advanced Higher French. Until 2017 it was known as The Lansdowne Prize.

Vicki Harrison & Joseph McGrath Williams - Joint-Prize Winner 2017 - 2018

Joseph Mc Grath-Williams

Glasgow Branch Chairman Gerry Toner, Hon.Treasurer Colin Browning and Hon.Secretary Elizabeth Bryant were pleased to attend a ceremony at the High School of Glasgow where they awarded the prize to Joseph McGrath Williams.

Joseph attained the highest mark in Advanced Higher French with another student from Edinburgh College.

Gerry made a short speech and gave Joseph his certificate and cheque for £200. Joseph has gone on to study medicine at Oxford University and is a member of the French Club there.

Harriet Phillips - Prize Winner 2016 - 2017

Harriet Phillips

This year's winner is Harriet Phillips comes from James Gillespie's High School in Edinburgh.

Harry Johnson - Prize Winner 2015 - 2016

Harry Johnstone

The winner in 2015 - 2016 was Harry Johnston of Balfron High School who received his prize from Gerry Toner, president of the Glasgow branch accompanied by vice-president Colette Blazy-Mackie and treasurer Cécile Docherty.

Harry has gone on to study French and Film Making at St Andrews University.

Sarah MacArthur - Prize Winner 2014 - 2015

Sarah McArthur

The Lansdowne Prize was won by Sarah McArthur of Edinburgh College who received her prize from the Society’s President Lord Brodie and Tom Wight Chairman of the Edinburgh Branch and Anne-Colette Lequet Hon Treasurer of the Edinburgh Branch.

Douglas Clark and Thomas Oldham - Joint Prize Winners 2013 - 2014

The Lansdowne Prize was awarded to two students who came equal top in Advanced Higher French. They were Douglas Clark from Grove Academy in Broughty Ferry and Thomas Oldham from Robert Gordon College in Aberdeen.

The prizes were presented by the St Andrews and Aberdeen Branches respectively.

Helena Brewer - Prize Winner 2012 - 2013

Helena Brewer

Le 18 décembre 2012 Mme Christiane Cooper, Vice-Présidente de la Branche d’Edimbourg a décerné le Lansdowne Prize à Helena Brewer, une élève de la St-George’s School for Girls d’Edimbourg.

Mme Cooper était accompagnée de Mr Sébastien Bosek, Secrétaire de la Branche d’Edimbourg.

Brillante élève Helena a obtenu d’excellents résultats non seulement en Français mais dans tous ses examens. Pendant sa scolarité elle s’est acquittée de ses responsabilités de ‘prefect’ avec dévouement et courtoisie. Héléna fait désormais des études d’Histoire à l’Université de Bristol.

David Maguire - Prize Winner 2011 - 2012

David Maguire

The Lansdowne Prize was awarded to David Maguire of the High School of Glasgow.

The Prize was presented by Janine Adamson, National Vice-President and Rosalyn Faulds, National Secretary and Chairperson of the Glasgow Branch.

David went on to study Civil Engineering at Imperial College London where he is also continuing to develop his French by means of an advanced French module. He also has the possibility of undertaking some of his studies in France or some other European country.

Sam Dickinson - Prize Winner 2010 - 2011

Sam Dickinson

The Lansdowne Prize was awarded to Sam Dickinson, a pupil of Mackie Academy in Stonehaven.

The Prize was presented to Sam by Janine Adamson, National Vice-President of the Franco Scottish Society.

Sam broke his neck in a horrific car accident in 2009 and spent 7 months in the Spinal Unit of the Queen Elizabeth II Hospital in Glasgow. However, supported by his devoted family, his dedicated teachers and his caring friends, he obtained remarkable results in all his Advanced Higher subjects.

He was accepted to read Economics and Politics at Merton College in Oxford.

Janine Adamson and Rhona Bean, the Hon.Secretary of the Aberdeen Branch of the Franco Scottish Society were delighted to congratulate Sam and to meet his family, his teachers and his headmaster.

This young man’s story is truly inspirational and we wish him all the best in his future studies!

Katie Docherty - Prize Winner 2009 - 2010

The Lansdowne prize was awarded to Katie Dochertie, a student of St Aloysius College Glasgow. She is now studying Law at Glasgow University.

The prize was awarded by the National Vice-President Janine Adamson and the past Chairperson of the Glasgow Branch, Jacqueline McNeill.

Sophie Macnair - Prize Winner 2008 - 2009

The winner was Sophie Macnair, from Mary Erskine School, Edinburgh.

Her prize was presented to her by Sir David Edward, President of the Franco-Scottish Society, at her school.

Emily Frier - Prize Winner 2007 - 2008

The winner was Emily Frier, George Heriot’s School, Edinburgh.

Imogen Whiteside - Prize Winner 2006 - 2007

The winner was Imogen Whiteside from Robert Gordon’s College, Aberdeen.

Kitty Horsey - Prize Winner 2005 - 2006

The winner in 2005 was Kitty Horsey, St Mary’s Music School, Edinburgh.